Moving words around

Since last week, I have been thinking a lot about my novel and some of the suggestions about moving certain information until later in my novel.  I have been struggling with this because it’s basically impossible.  However, I did finally figure out a way to use some of it and still put part of it later in the novel.

Now doing this will in a way, cause me to rewrite entire chapters.  I have been avoiding this because I wasn’t sure just how I would do it and not lose the things I wanted to add later, but couldn’t think about just yet.  If I tried to move it all at once, I would never get a single chapter done and I’m sure the work would be incoherent.

So I have decided that I need to make a document where I dump all the stuff I am cutting but might want to use in later scenes.  I’m sure when it’s all said and done some of that stuff will not have a new home but at least this way I won’t lose what I had.

I also figured out that doing this will make me need to write each chapter individually and not worry about what will get moved where until the time comes.  I don’t think I’m going to save each chapter separately but I am going to break them down into pieces and only concentrate on the one I want to polish.  This may have me jumping around but I am ok with that.

About awritersprocess
I have been a writer longer than I can remember. It started with poems in grade school and evolved into the manuscripts, articles, and blogs that I currently write for. My desire to become an editor came later in life but I am no less passionate about that as I am about writing. I have a BA in English (with a minor in History) and have even taken a proofreading class through Editorial Freelancers Association. I am a writer for hire.

Leave a Reply

