Taking Criticism in Stride

Recently my monthly writers’ group met.  I once again brought the first three pages of my novel (only three pages are allowed) and put my heart and soul on display.  Some of the people in my group this month had read the copy I had last month, others hadn’t.  Both can be a blessing and a curse because those who have seen it might see what was changed, and those who haven’t do not know the lengths you have gone to make the work better.

In our group if you bring something to be critiqued, you are supposed to sit and take the criticism without defending your work.  This can be difficult at times but these people are trying to help you make it better and as an outside viewer can see the problems, you don’t.  I try to follow this rule and don’t say anything unless asked specific questions.

That being said last night was somewhat difficult.  I received great advice but many jokes were made at my expense, or actually at my story’s expense.  I have to admit I laughed about much of it because it was good-natured.  However, I also learned a lot from that session.  I was also asked to bring the revised copy back next month so people can see what I changed.

So do you take criticism well?  Or do you get defensive?

About awritersprocess
I have been a writer longer than I can remember. It started with poems in grade school and evolved into the manuscripts, articles, and blogs that I currently write for. My desire to become an editor came later in life but I am no less passionate about that as I am about writing. I have a BA in English (with a minor in History) and have even taken a proofreading class through Editorial Freelancers Association. I am a writer for hire.

Leave a Reply

