Silence is Golden…or is it?

Editing a novel can be a complete pain in the rear.  As the writer you don’t see the glaring and especially the non-glaring errors that others do.  It can make you want to run screaming the other direction when you are told to go back and edit your novel again, because you’ve done it once of course you found all the mistakes the first time around.  If only it were that easy.  In thinking about my own novel and how I don’t want to start editing the second one yet I have come to the conclusion that it is time to try one of the tricks you read in books and hear from people a lot.  I plan to read my novel out loud.

Now if you are like me, you don’t feel comfortable doing this in front of ANYONE.  I want to do it when I am alone so when the obvious to others but not me mistakes come out of my mouth, I will not feel stupid for missing them in the first place.  So I have decided that I will do one chapter per night I am alone.  It may take me a while to get through the whole novel this way, I really don’t know how many chapters I have since I didn’t number them, but I think the benefit will be worth it in the long run.  Some of the chapters are shorter than others so it may end up that some night I read more than one.

I do have another hope in doing this; I hope that I can find what doesn’t work to distinguish some of my characters from another.  I have a feeling I will be surprised at the ones which sound the same.  I think this will also make the novel better.

So I’ll let you know how it goes next week since tomorrow night I will be able to put this in affect.

About awritersprocess
I have been a writer longer than I can remember. It started with poems in grade school and evolved into the manuscripts, articles, and blogs that I currently write for. My desire to become an editor came later in life but I am no less passionate about that as I am about writing. I have a BA in English (with a minor in History) and have even taken a proofreading class through Editorial Freelancers Association. I am a writer for hire.

Leave a Reply

