Round One (almost) Complete

As December draws to a close I have found myself ready to work on my novel again, I even began editing it further.  What did I discover to my delight and surprise?  I am almost finished with it.  Well sort of.

The novel is 121 pages in 8.5” x 11” format.  This relates to about 437 pages in paperback format; a decent sized novel.  Knowing that the page numbers currently in use are not accurate, it is hard to determine how close I actually am to being finished with the first edit.  I can say that I am somewhere around page 40.

Now I should also state that only part of what I have edited on paper has been changed on the electronic version.  So this is why I say I am sort of almost finished.  I have little left of making red marks on the page but a decent amount of corrections where I can save.

What does this mean?  Well that I need to get my butt in gear and finish the first edit.  It also means that soon the novel will be ready for a second edit.  One which I am not sure I will be able to do right away.  I do have some major changes I want to work into the novel, such as some of the gods I am no longer going to utilize and correcting a grave mistake I made with one of my races.  So perhaps I can do that as a “second” edit without actually attempting to edit the entire novel right away.  Such changes should alter the story so that when I do a third edit, going through the entire novel again, I will be able to find glaring errors again.

About awritersprocess
I have been a writer longer than I can remember. It started with poems in grade school and evolved into the manuscripts, articles, and blogs that I currently write for. My desire to become an editor came later in life but I am no less passionate about that as I am about writing. I have a BA in English (with a minor in History) and have even taken a proofreading class through Editorial Freelancers Association. I am a writer for hire.

Leave a Reply

