A Different Perspective

In the process of editing my novel I have decided to attempt for someone to read it and tell me where they think the story needs improvement; in a way, editing it themselves.  I am not looking for perfection as I know someone who has never done it before is not going to catch everything, but someone who hasn’t read it before will catch things I don’t see.

This endeavor has gained me little.  One person who read it said they couldn’t follow the storyline but nothing else.  I honestly fail to see how they couldn’t.  No that is not because I wrote it so I know the plot.  I have taken pieces of this to my writer’s group and they can follow it so obviously it’s not that complicated.  Another person finally told me she wasn’t going to read it because she thought I would get too upset with her when she handed it back to me with red everywhere.  I have since given it to two other people in the hopes that one of them will get back to me with something useful.

I need a different perspective here.  Yes the story is extremely unpolished but I want someone to tell me where they think it needs improvement before I change too much and have to rewrite entire chapters over.  Maybe that is unrealistic and even with their input I will have to later.  That is a bridge I would rather cross when I come to it now rather than worrying myself over the notion.

So tell me how to get someone to actually read the novel (everyone keeps claiming they want to before I give it to them) AND give me something I can use to make it better?

About awritersprocess
I have been a writer longer than I can remember. It started with poems in grade school and evolved into the manuscripts, articles, and blogs that I currently write for. My desire to become an editor came later in life but I am no less passionate about that as I am about writing. I have a BA in English (with a minor in History) and have even taken a proofreading class through Editorial Freelancers Association. I am a writer for hire.

One Response to A Different Perspective

  1. An fascinating dialogue is value comment. I think that it is best to write extra on this subject, it may not be a taboo subject however typically people are not sufficient to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

Leave a Reply

