World Building

Those who write fantasy usually have to do at least some world building.  Regardless of if they are using an “Earth” like we know to make the world their own, they must create something which is not found on the Earth we live now.  Depending on how different you want that world to be it can take a while to get the world completed.

We have influences everywhere too, especially when you read fantasy.  Sometimes it’s easy to see where our influences come from and other times it’s not.  However it can be hard to walk the fine line between emulating and imitating someone’s idea for your own story.  I have been reading George R R Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” series lately.  There is much I like in it that I want to utilize but not completely copy.  I want my world to be my own afterall.  So I think about the way he writes and how I can use it in my own world without it being obvious where it came from.  There are some ideas I like but have chucked out the window as too similar.

There are also authors or series’ where I know what I have “stolen” for my world.  I have not taken it exactly from this other source but I see the influence and if someone has read those works they might see it in mine.

Still world building takes time.  I have been working on mine on and off for fifteen years.  Of course recently is when it really began to take shape and become my own instead of copying one of the books I have been influenced by.  There is much to do yet and much that is finished.  It is time consuming and currently taking away from my writing.  It is also going to force me to really edit the two novels I have written to make sure they fit in what I create.

About awritersprocess
I have been a writer longer than I can remember. It started with poems in grade school and evolved into the manuscripts, articles, and blogs that I currently write for. My desire to become an editor came later in life but I am no less passionate about that as I am about writing. I have a BA in English (with a minor in History) and have even taken a proofreading class through Editorial Freelancers Association. I am a writer for hire.

Leave a Reply

