The Halfway Point

Today is November 15th.  As of today I should have 25,000 words written for my novel this month.  I don’t but I am very close to that.  I am taking a break tonight, which I think is a good thing.  I went into this novel with an idea that it would start here, end here with this event, and my characters would venture through this area in between.  Well for the most part, that is what is going on but there have been several twists along the way.  I have got into the head of two characters who were just “there” in the last novel.  I have introduced some new characters and had at least one do something that I didn’t intend when they were created.  I have to admit I now find this character intriguing and just might keep them longer than they were originally planned.  My novel is meandering along to the conclusion I first started with, its just taking several turns to get there.

That’s how it is too.  I know lots of people say you have to outline your novel before you write.  I can’t, no matter how much I try.  As I stated above I know  where I’m starting and where its ending and a general idea of what will happen in between but my novels seem to take on a life of their own and things happen I didn’t expect.  For me an outline would be like trying to shoehorn an elephant into a bottle.  Yes I could do an outline and then deviate as needed but then I’d have to redo the entire outline and when I’m writing I don’t want to have to worry about that.  I have enough to worry about while writing.  And I like not doing an outline because when my novel does take a turn, I can explore it easier.

With 25,000 words left to write I am looking at my novel and thinking, is 50,000 going to be enough.  What makes that statement even crazier is that last year I never thought I’d get to 50K.  This year I knew I would but now I worry I won’t have the story finished.

About awritersprocess
I have been a writer longer than I can remember. It started with poems in grade school and evolved into the manuscripts, articles, and blogs that I currently write for. My desire to become an editor came later in life but I am no less passionate about that as I am about writing. I have a BA in English (with a minor in History) and have even taken a proofreading class through Editorial Freelancers Association. I am a writer for hire.

Leave a Reply

